Tags

… and is always the first thing to fade.

When Epica released ‘Unleashed’ this lyric stood out the most for me because simply, it’s true. Time is just a concept, marking the passage of time is a very human thing to do – no other creature (as far as I am aware) measures time in quite the same we do. We have calendars, watches, appointments… deadlines.

And when the deadlines come closer and closer there is this panic, the fleeting feeling that whatever you do, however you do it… it’s just not going to be good enough.

Last year I swore to myself that I wouldn’t feel that this year, so I’ve tried and tried to keep ahead of the work that I’ve had to do – not easy really when you lose three days of your work through working ‘in the real world’ as it were. Sometimes I feel like I’m one of only a few university students that is grounded in reality of the real world… but then other times I’m so typically student that I wouldn’t know what the real world is. For two years I’ve been this split being between working and being a student, and it is ever so quickly coming to an end.

But I’m ready for it to come to an end. It’s time, for now, to end it, to leave education and take a break of the fantasy realm of the student bubble and live in reality for a bit. And it’s going to be hard, it really is, but I’m looking forwards to it.

I just have to finish my dissertation first, and get the exams out-of-the-way.

Then the real world will have to make room for me.

