Tags

, , , ,

Having finished reading Inkheart by Cornelia Funke (I almost wrote Fudge… whoops) I still don’t really know what to make of the book. It took me a long time to read it, I well and truly struggled to get into it, although I don’t know if that’s because I watched the film first, starring Brendan Fraiser, or because it was written from the perspective of a 12-year-old girl. Which I am not. And therefore struggled to relate.

The concept behind the book is a brilliant idea. What if you could read a character out of a book? But at the cost of someone going into said book?  Personally I think that the concept and what was produced didn’t tally up. The book moved at a painfully slow pace at times, it was difficult to get into because of that… and Meggie is the most irritating child ever. I mean, if she existed in real life she’s the sort of whiney kid that I would simply want to slap. Hard. Elanor’s character was equally as irritating, I mean I know lots of people who love books – seen houses packed brim with them and I understand the lure of adventure within a book… but seriously… Funke could have made her actually live a little. She was whiney too. Mo was broody.

I suspect that my interest in the book had waned only because I had seen the film, and really quite liked it, and thus my imagination was limited when reading the book as I was trying to fit the film to the book rather than using my imagination with and truly getting into it. It was the same with Stardust except that I really enjoyed both the book and the film of Stardust, but hey ho.

