Tags

, , , , , ,

So you may be wondering why the past few posts have had a (fairly) heavy dose of Harry Potter in them. Or, you may not, but I’m going to tell you anyways, because I’m nice like that.

The Harry Potter books have had a big impact on my life. I remember the day I started reading the first one and thinking ‘this is really rubbish…’ and then put it aside until later in the year and finished reading it. I was about 10, and annoyed that I had to read the books on a particular reading level at school, I think it was one from the top. So I skipped that level, went to the school library and found this book. I don’t know what drew me to it at all, but I do know that I still have that copy, the first few pages ripped out so that my stepmother wouldn’t suspect that it was a school library book. I’m not sure why I still have it, I have the complete series, and the Philosopher’s Stone I have two copies of as a result.

There’s something so enthralling about the books, this whole new world that was created. Criticise JKR’s writing all you will, it did what many adults wanted it to do – get children into reading. And, you could argue, the same is true in the modern context of the Twilight series.

So the books have been a big part of my life since I was ten. 11 years later and my love for the series is still strong, although not nearly as obsessive (until…) as it once was. My favourite book has always been The Chamber of Secrets, and those first few books I must have read about 15 times before discovering the world of fan fiction. There are times, even now, when I get some the events of the most fantastically written fan fiction confused with the events in the books, or the films etc. Was such and such in the books? Films? Someone’s fan fiction? Pass. Haha, that’s just the way it goes sometimes.

It’s the fan fiction aspect to the Harry Potter world that has literally dominated my life since I discovered it when I was 13. I’ve made the most fantastic friends because of it, some of which I’ve had the opportunity to meet up with (not easy when they come from America or Australia!). We’ve had forums, at one stage the most popular forum on FanFiction.Net in the Harry Potter section, we’ve had a book that travelled the world (and got a little lost… alright, a LOT lost) and we’ve got this long-lasting friendship that exists as a result of everything.

So – why all the Harry Potter stuff then? Well, it’s September. And I’ve been playing Harry Potter Lego on the DS almost religiously since I got it the other day. Years 1-4 – all good fun.

Actually, I have to say whilst it’s a great game to play, and good fun, I think I prefered playing the Star Wars Lego game as it was slightly harder and lasted for a bit longer. I’m almost at the end of the 3rd year, and I’ve only been playing for about 8 hours (but then again, I’m used to putting about 200 hours + into my RPG’s [Dragon Quest VIII much? Final Fantasy X?]). So 8 hours is really nothing.

Also, I noticed the other day that the sequel to A Very Potter Musical (Entitled A Very Potter Sequel, I think) was post a little whilst ago so started watching that as well.

I guess another reason for the Harry Potter love is actually, I just don’t have as much to do, and that this world is simply filling the void of university, until something else comes along that it.

And finally, I’m still only at something like 3.4% complete of my NaNo ’07 rewrite…

