Two weeks, I think it was, before the end of university – not the official end of term, but that bit between the end of having to hand in assignments and the bit where you know, the actual exams start – my old laptop crashed, with all my dissertation and all that on it. Luckily, it was saved, and backed up, and I was actually able to access my laptop again. But because of this crash – and to be fair the laptop was about three years old, and had served me really quite well, ish – I got a brand new (pink!) Dell.

And since the end of university, aside from the feat that was NaNoWriMo in November, I’ve barely used it.

So here’s a pledge to myself – update this blog every couple of days. I may just challenge myself to update everyday, but I’m pretty sure I would run out of things to say, really quite quickly. So, every couple of days, because there must be something interesting to talk about within the space of a couple of days. Hopefully.

Plus, it would mean getting more use out of my laptop, rather than letting it go to waste, and not simply using Facebook all the time. Although, I’m pretty sure that everything I now do on the internet is somehow connected to Facebook. Haha. Fail for me, for when I had deleted my account, I constantly moaned at Nuri about everything on the internet having a ‘Like’ button, or some sort of connection to social networking. But then, I guess, it’s the social network that is on the rise. I used to hate the idea of some stranger, or even a potential employer looking through Facebook to see what sort of person you are. In fact, I do still hate the idea, I guess I’m just more used to it now.

I finished reading Lud-in-the-Mist. It was certainly an interesting read, and dark in places. I liked the fact that it was written before the rules of fantasy were written (because, let’s face it, there are rules to fantasy in the modern age). The language of the book was difficult to get through, and it makes me feel a bit dumb saying it, but I had to read it in chunks rather than in a long sitting – except when I was getting to the end, that is – because the language was so convoluted and took such a long to time to explain anything, but that was the way of writing in 1926. My next book is Kate Mosse’s The Winter Ghosts which is already looking to be interesting. So more on that when the time comes for it! After that, I think it’s H.G. Wells again, but haven’t decided for sure yet. Then I’m going to be in need of more books, so any suggestions would be grand!

Peace out folks!

