Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Alright, so not being too sure about Facebook, and my own IT skills, and whether my laptop is actually failing me or not, I think Facebook is down. Now, whilst this isn’t exactly the worst thing in the world, it’s reinforced the notion that everything that I do online is somehow linked to my Facebook account. I was able to get onto Facebook for about 10 minutes, and that was it. Lol. So naturally, because I’ve been thinking about it most of the day, I’ve been trying to get on to it all day.

All I have to think is ‘hey ho’ whatever and get on with other internet stuff, haha!

Anyways, what I really wanted to talk about was something that happened to me at work last weekend, but before I do this, I thought I would give a bit of background information for my friends that don’t live in the United Kingdom.

VAT prices in the UK have gone up from 17.5% to 20%. You may already know this, but there you go, have told you again. This means that the VAT on absolutely everything has gone up – bearing in mind that not all products carry a VAT rate (food, for instance). Now, I’m not going to talk specifics or anything like that – I’m not sure I’m allowed to anyways??? Well, the price of fuel has gone up over the past year, and the national average for petrol sits at something like £1.30 per litre.

Now, back to last weekend. I served this customer who began gesticulating and talking loudly, attracting the attention of the all of one(!) customer at the time. He was talking about starting a revolution, of taking over government and doing things ‘their way’. This makes me laugh, people always talk about doing something ‘their way’ but really, nobody should have to shoulder the experience of running a country. Especially when it’s in the state that it is in at the moment.

Then, during the week I saw a circular e-mail that was talking of basically boycotting the largest selling fuel companies in the UK – that being BP and ESSO according to this e-mail. So I sat there and read this e-mail thinking about how it would work.

The thing is, petrol stations are built like supermarkets. You won’t go out of your way to go to a supermarket when there is one much closer, and far more convenient. That would be like me when I lived in Canterbury going to Tesco’s/Morrison’s when there was an Asda’s just two minutes across the road.

The fact of the matter is that the era of cheap fuel is over. People have to realise that this is Britain. Revolution wouldn’t work. No matter how much we dislike something, we never act. Well, I suppose aside from the Student Riots a few weeks ago. But, the point is… there isn’t going to ever be a succesful revolution. Petrol is a necessity for this nation, why would people risk it?

For some random reason I had loads of views yesterday! Thanks guys :)

