Tags

, , ,

So in the past few weeks I’ve done several [fairly inconsequential] things. I think in my previous blog post I mentioned The Coma which I hadn’t long finished reading. Since then I’ve read Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones and went to the cinema to see The Kings Speech. I’ll get onto both of those in a moment.

I haven’t been running for about a week and a half or so, which has annoyed me a bit but that was more due to the weather – more so the wind – than anything else. And since then I’ve come down with a cold. Not making excuses or anything. It’s due to start-up again from Monday or so.

So first things first. The Lovely Bones. I liked this book, well to begin with anyways. I liked the concept behind the novel, the idea that Susie was looking down on her family watching over them as they learnt to deal with her death, but towards the end I felt that there was no actual conclusion to the novel, that it didn’t really *go* anywhere. To be honest from the really interesting and conceptual start it was a disappointment at the end.I wish there had been something actually definitive about it.

The Kings Speech. There isn’t much I can say about it but that it was absolutely AMAZING!!! I loved it, and considering I wasn’t quite sure what the film was designed to do (educate, comedy, drama etc) it did it all. It was fantastic!!! I’m definitely buying it on DVD when it’s released. It certainly deserves all the awards it’s been nominated for!

Well, that’s all for now. Time to catch up on Scrubs.

