Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the state of the United Kingdom today, when the prominent issues that arise are relating the latest antics of the government, the coalition, the echoes of the expenses scandals, recession… the list could go on and on with little good to mention, you can understand why people may not think of much else. But this is something that I would like to say – there is so much more to this life than what happens day-to-day in government. I wish people could open their eyes and see the bigger picture, of things in the long-term. If that happened, you could perhaps understand the reasons behind decisions that are made. The British Government, despite the opening to this particular blog, is not the absolute subject of this post. I actually want to mention a few things, about the Earth, about the environment, oil, Japan… [Don’t worry, I’m not an Independent type person, I’m not here to convert you… I just want to spill some thoughts that have been clouding my brain recently].

So before really getting into my brain too much, I should mention that the reason for me actually writing this blog stemmed from reading this article in the daily i Newspaper. The article explores the notion of a whole nation addicted to a drug – something we can’t live without – oil – and what it means when crisis happens in the world, when disaster strikes the main sources of this drug. Thinking about it, I fully agree with the author Johann Hari, fuel is like a drug, and here is why: our nation is truly dependent on this black gold. There are some 60 million people who live within the United Kingdom, and in recent years the number of older people outweighs the young. You can learn to ride a moped at 16, learn to drive a car at 17 meaning that there are a significant number of people who can drive. But think further. The UK transport network relies on logistics, sometimes there are trains to transport goods, sometimes boats, but largely it’s Lorries and trucks, which rely on fuel. In British history there’s this notion that Victorian London lived in a constant cloud of smog – but imagine today – there are times where I wonder if the UK is subject to suffocate under the fumes of cars and lorries and other such pollution. I know, or at least I think I know, that the fumes burn clearly into the atmosphere, but still they burn and they destroy the atmosphere.

But you see the worse thing for me here is the fact that I am a hypocrite.

I am concerned about the nature of the atmosphere. I am concerned about what pollution does to the atmosphere. But I still want the ability to drive, to be able to get from A to B without needing to rely on public transport. And, at the end of the day, I need it for my job – or even to get another job because where I live isn’t exactly accessible, especially in extreme weather conditions. This makes me a hypocrite.

When people come into my garage and they complain about the nature of the petrol prices, of how they are going up and even at the potential threat of the price of fuel reaching GBP 2.00 by the end of the summer. What people seem to forget is that one; we live in a capitalist nation. Capitalism, by definition, is a society based on consumerism, which is in turn based on supply and demand. When supply is plentiful, prices are low, when supply is shorted prices rise. It’s as simple as that. With the Middle East situation and the possibility that fuel reserves are actually a lot less than previously estimated/reported – you can understand why fuel is getting more expensive. Plus, with the UK we have the massive government deficit, VAT rises were predictable. Especially on commodities that are used every day, such as fuel, cigarettes. It’s an expensive world we live in. It is what it is.

But this in itself brings me to my next topic of interest. When you take something from the earth, and nothing is replaced, is it surprising that the world is experiencing more natural disasters? I don’t mean to detract from the severity of the Japanese earthquake at all, and I am also aware that the quake was caused by shifting tectonic plates, which in turn caused the Tsunami. I think my favourite “cause” for this quake is described by The Sun, here. Despite the moon having tidal power over the Earth’s Seas, I don’t really believe that this could be possible. But there you go.

I think that will do for now. It’s been a while since I updated.

