Tags

, , ,

How…. gullible can you be? I mean, I know that I can be quite easily led, and take in a few mistruths told by people [not intentionally, mind you].

How many of you check your Facebook accounts each and everyday? Sometimes each and every hour?

So, really, when I see messages like this:

FACEBOOK JUST RELEASED THEIR PRICE GRID FOR MEMBERSHIP. $9.99 PER MONTH FOR GOLD MEMBER SERVICES, $6.99 PER MONTH FOR SILVER MEMBER SERVICES, $3.99 PER MONTH FOR BRONZE MEMBER SERVICES, FREE IF YOU COPY AND PASTE THIS MESSAGE BEFORE MIDNIGHT TONIGHT. WHEN YOU SIGN ON TOMORROW MORNING YOU WILL BE PROMPTED FOR PAYMENT INFO…IT IS OFFICIAL IT WAS EVEN ON THE NEWS. FACEBOOK WILL START CHARGING DUE TO THE NEW PROFILE CHANGES. IF YOU COPY THIS ON YOUR WALL YOUR ICON WILL TURN BLUE AND FACEBOOK WILL BE FREE FOR YOU

All I can think is – how stupid are you? I don’t mean this as in I think that anyone who posts these messages are as thick as a short plank, but it genuinely shows that vast majority of people are… well, sheep. The number of status updates I’ve seen over the past few days with this on has been absurd. The question is – do you really think that this is actually possible? That simply copy and pasting a message would “protect” your Facebook from being charged? It’s like the old e-mails that used to go around about collecting money for charity, something like a penny or a cent per e-mail for some poor kid.

So, when I see messages like these, I can’t help but LOL, a lot:

It’s official! Facebook users will believe anything their friends copy and paste into their status’. SO… Not only will Facebook start charging you tomorrow, they are also going to bill your credit card for the past 3 years of services. Luckily, each person who copies and pastes this status will receive a FREE unicorn in the mail tomorrow, with a hat. However, if you don’t repost this status, a Facebook code has been set up to automatically set your computer on fire and harm an innocent bunny in the forest! It’s all true, it was on the news……… true story

And:

Facebook just released their new Membership charges – $9.99 for IDIOTS, $6.99 CROSS-EYED PEOPLE, $3.99 for special dribbly people, but it’s free if you post a pic of yourself with a homemade foil hat on, goggles and most importantly swimming armbands (DO NOT FORGET THE ARMBANDS) by midnight tonight. When you sign in tomorrow, you will be prompted for your star sign. It is official, it was confirmed by my friend’s, wife’s, brother’s cousin, who heard it from his nurse in the special hospital – also confirmed by the voices that speak to him personally! These charges are all due to the new changes. If you post your pic, your icon will turn blue (AS IT ALWAYS HAS BEEN), and FB will be free for you, and as a bonus you will also get a special jacket to hug yourself (choice of colours available). Please pass this message on, if not your account will never be the same again once the aliens have tampered with it! It’s gotta be true. I read it on facebook…..

What get’s me about the first post is that people believe that the words “it was on the news. It must be true.” Really? Really?

I remember from well before I deleted by account [the first time] that these rumors were spread, but I also remember it being announced by Facebook central themselves that it would never, ever, be charged for. Of course, this could well lead to the whole “big brother” type thing, and considering the most recent updates I can more and more believe that. But that’s an entry for another day.

The following link is one of the first results from a Google search about Facebook charges. I think the emphasis on the cyber criminals is a bit extreme, but there you go.

I’ll end it there, I think. Hope I haven’t bored you, or offended you if you posted any of the above status’.

