Tags

, , ,

Oh, where to start? I had a grand plan of writing an epic blog entry about all sorts of things, but for some reason the words – or at least how I want them to sounds – refuse to flow from my fingertips to the keyboard.

It’s been nearly a month since I updated this blog [God, that sounded like I was at an AA meeting…. “Hello, my name is Alice and I haven’t had a drink in 23 days…]. I love writing my blogs, but I just don’t do it enough and I think that is because I don’t write towards a specific subject, e.g. Politics, reviews, current affairs or whatever. If I kept up to date and wrote towards a subject then I’d probably write a lot more here. With November, and NaNoWriMo coming up, I’m sure I’ll end up updating more frequently.

On the subject of NaNoWriMo I think this year will be the biggest struggle for me to complete the challenge. Last year, I would argue, was my easiest as I was more determined to finish the challenge as it was the first year I was alone in doing so – but I was more in contact with my buddies and friends and felt, well, not quite so alone in doing NaNo.  This year, that couldn’t be further from the truth. I feel the furthest I have ever been from my friends. They are spread across not only the UK, but also the world. I suppose that it’s partly my fault as I’m not so great at keeping in contact with people… Like I say, this year will be the biggest struggle for me to over come. No local meets, a possible meet with a few of the old gang, but nothing for definite at the moment.

One of the things that I really wanted to write about today was Harry Potter. I, like most people my age, grew up with Harry Potter. I think I mentioned in a previous post that he was my best friend growing up – I could always count on him to be there. Then the films were made. Until the 5th film, I hadn’t really seen any except the first. I think the only one that I’m hazy about seeing is the second film. The latest box set will be released in early December [I think] so it means that I can own the films on DVD now as well. I didn’t really see the point in buying the films individually, or even in a set, until all the films had been released – for what reason I’m really not sure.

Anyway, the point is, new Harry Potter. Soon.

I’ve started re-reading the series again. Not because the films are due out or anything like that, but because I wanted to rediscover the magic of Harry Potter. Like I said earlier I grew up with Harry. But re-reading the series again, at age 22, I’m looking at the books with completely different eyes than when I did when I read the series from 10 onwards. There are things that I’m noticing this time that I’ve missed before, different subtext that I’m picking up on. For instance, in Philosopher’s Stone, at Christmas Professor Dumbledore swaps his wizard hat for a flowery bonnet. This, when younger, struck me as humorous, but now you pick up on the [extremely] subtle subtext of the Headmasters sexuality. I guess it’s like the onion analogy that all English teachers pull out of the air in relation to poetry – literature across the board is like an onion, it has many layers of stuff before getting to the core. When you review it, you peel a layer away from the onion and reveal a new layer – with a new analysis waiting. Re-reading the series with my older eyes is a bit like this, seeing different layers for different things.

Now, here’s a question that I wish to ask [and probably won’t get an answer for] when you read, or even watch, a book or a film or a TV series, how do you decide what your favourite character is? I ask this because there are people in the Harry Potter fandom that have favourite characters that perhaps only make a brief appearance in the books [e.g. the early Marauders etc.]. For me, my favourite character is generally the lead, but that’s because without the lead there wouldn’t be a story, but it’s more than that – the main – in this case Harry – is the person I could relate to the most. Reading this time round, that may change because my own circumstances have changed. I feel that I can understand why the Dursley’s behaved in the manner that they did more than I could back then.

I think I’ll end the ramble there for today, and I do apologise if I have made your eyes bleed with today’s post.

