Tags

, , , ,

I know my last post was about The Hunger Games but thought I would write about it again – but then it is pretty awesome – so why not?

I think I was about to go and see the film in my previous post – and whilst I won’t say much about the film – if you enjoyed the books, watch the film as it is really great at fleshing out details of the books. I think it’s one of the rare instances where the book and the film are actually perfect fits for each other. It’s not just an adaptation of a book, but it is, in my opinion, a film that truly does the book justice. [Are there any views on it? If so, please let me know! I’d love to hear what other people think!]

Thanks to a friend, I now have the books on my Kindle too, which means that it will be a bit easier to re-read the books as well [namely as I’ve lent out both the first and second books] plus it means that I can pick it up every now and then rather than reading it all in one go.

The Hunger Games is a very odd series for me. It reminds me in more than one way of Twilight with the way that it’s written, and, whilst I think I will always debate whether or not I actually liked Twilight [I mean, I enjoyed reading it, but know in reality that they are really awful and in general the biggest Mary-Sue fiction I think I’ve ever read – and seriously, I struggle to admit that I have read, and generally I lean-to the side that says I hated the books]. I think it’s the idea behind The Hunger Games that I like, and the potential of a future that actually isn’t too dissimilar to the that portrayed by Suzanne Collins. I would suggest that the books would have been better if they had been written in third person as I think it is one of the most difficult things to pull off first person writing.

AlongsideThe Hunger Games films and books is the Facebook game – which is horribly addictive – just like the books – and still in Beta… which means that I’m now at the furthest point I can go until Thursday. Frustrating!

As I was typing about Twilight above I was reminded of a paragraph that I read in my most recent foray into the world of reading -“The Rivers of London” I think it’s called – which aside from having numerous Harry Potter references in the beginning – it’s like Harry Potter for adults, really – there’s a paragraph where the main character – a magical apprentice, alongside his “master”, go to a house and have to eliminate some vampires – and there is a carefully not so well hidden dig about these vampires not being of the sparkly variety. I suppose you should read it to get the full effect, because it turns out that I’m not so great at telling jokes in blogs as well as real life.

I really feel the need to share with you all that my jaw really hurts as well. I’ve come to the conclusion [via a few other people] that either I’m having wisdom teeth problems [which I am actually hoping that this is the case] or I’m suffering TMJ Disorder – which is basically a shorthand version of a big word that means my jaw hurts. Go figure.

That’s all for now folks! Take care, and may the odds be ever in your favour!

