Tags

, , , , ,

So it’s November. November means succumbing to the challenge of NaNoWriMo, which for me this year, for the first time in five years, I haven’t participated in. There are a number of reasons for this, but mainly, I just didn’t think I had it in me to write a 50,000 word novel, yet I found myself thinking yesterday that if I wrote something like 3,000 words a day from today I could still finish… then I wanted to finish my current knitting project, and well, it’s not going to happen. I still have a few days of holiday left, and could probably do it if I really committed myself to the challenge, but I actually think having a year off from the challenge will just be more beneficial in the long run.

Don’t get me wrong, I really, really wanted to take part… but my knitting projects have sort of taken over, so it’s just not going to happen. However, despite this, I do have a vague novel idea lurking in my brain, so I think more than anything it’s a case of sitting down and focusing my brain and physically writing. I may set a personal challenge of word count and time frame and see what happens. The bonus of doing NaNoWriMo is that there are other people in the same boat as you, which makes it easier in a way, that shared struggle to the finish line… doing it personally requires more planning, and actually the finished product should be of a higher quality than the general NaNo-ness.

Last night when I was laying awake waiting for sleep to overtake me I was thinking of writing this blog, of what I could write about. I really wanted to write about the Conservative MP in “I Am Celebrity…” but really, now I don’t know what to say as from the fact that her being in the Jungle isn’t necessarily a bad thing as people are making out. I think actually it is a good thing, perhaps she will be able to bring politics to a more mainstream audience, you never know. Not that she has had much of a chance from what I have seen so far.

And people need to stop voting for her and Helen from doing tasks. There are other people in the Jungle!

… Yes, I know I’m talking about something that I wouldn’t really watch, but I really enjoyed the opening ceremony!!

So, for the time being what’s on the agenda?

Well, I have a couple of knitting projects in my head, a couple are Christmas related. I actually bought a huge magazine for one pattern for my best friend because the pattern is awesome. Since my last update I have made:

  • The Laced Mitts for my mummy
  • OWLS jumper
  • A tiger toy for my daddy
  • A complex looking hat, pictures of Facebook, and on Instagram

On Monday Alex and I went to the West End and saw Phantom of the Opera… it was cool to see it live, and takes me back to the old school days when

we used to be mildly obsessed with the whole thing. Looking back, I can’t see why haha, but there you go I guess it’s the way of everything. I remember owning the soundtrack at one point,

but have no idea where it went. The show was so well put together, and seriously, it was really beautiful the way everything went together. [We really wanted to see Spamalot,

but it wasn’t running as it was still transferring back to the theatre, so that will be the next thing we’ll see I’m sure!]

This is a shockingly disappointing blog, I think, but I will leave it there. I’m thinking I need to update more, especially on my projects! Knitting has completely taken over! I should really finish reading “A Clash of Kings”…

Until next time folks, take care and happy creating!

