Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s now January 4th and really a little late when coming to summing up the year past and ventures new. But I still would like to make a brief entry – I find it’s good for the brain when I write here. Well, sometimes anyway.

I suppose the main thing to say about the past year, more than anything else, is that we survived the end of the world according to the Mayan Calendar. To be honest though I always thought the end of the world would be a much slower process than one simple destructive action… excluding things that I really don’t want to think about the possibility of like nuclear bombs. I’d take the Triffids any day. That being said, the end of the world didn’t happen [yet], and I did read Day of the Triffids over Christmas, and it actually didn’t affect me as much as say 1984 did. I keep thinking about my Venus flytrap, and can’t help but call it a triffid in my head. And sometimes out loud making me look a bit silly.

So over the past year several things happened that has made it one of the best in my life so far. In brief, I learnt how to knit, and developed this hobby, I went to Egypt and several of my life dreams have been realised – something I genuinely didn’t think would happen, I got my new car and generally had a good time this year.

I love that I learnt to knit. It was an unexpected development in my life. There was nothing to suggest that this was going to happen, and now that I’ve established myself in this hobby – I really wish that I learnt the craft much earlier in life. But I have it now. It started around this time last year when I decided I was going to make a Hufflepuff scarf for Alex for Valentine’s day, and naturally it turned out more like a blanket, and I gave it to him more like April time rather than February, but there you go. My craft spiralled from there.

In this regard, this year I intend to develop this skill even more. I have a lot of stuff on a list to make before I can dedicate some time to thinking about how I want to go about this, but I want to design a few things for myself, and I adapt a few patterns. There’s some amazing stuff out there on the internet its unreal!

I also want to develop my skills with the sewing machine as I think this would also be a great skill to have, to be able to make my own clothes in this manner, as I would love to not rely on shops for the most part. [And you know, when that end of the world thing does happen, I’ll be able to at least make some practical clothes… assuming that I would survive]. But generally I would like to be more self sufficient like this. Material is more interesting than most of the clothes on the high street, and if I made it right it would be a perfect fit every time.

My Egyptian adventure is something that I wanted to do for as long as I remember – probably as long as I have been obsessed with Tomb Raider to be honest, I got to go into the dessert and see the stars, to photograph them. I got to go to the Great Pyramid, to see the Sphinx, and to pretend to Tomb Raider around them, and I met some lovely people when I was out there too. I miss doing all the swimming – whether it was in the sea or in the hotel pool. Maybe if I ever win the lottery I’ll have my own pool!

And my car – I’ve mentioned it in previous posts – ever since I wanted to drive I’ve wanted the Fiat 500, and not even a year into having my license I was able to get my own one, and I love it dearly! Just everything about my car is awesome. [Except the funny squeal it’s making when I start up and need to talk to the garage about]. Yes, I got it on a finance plan rather than all out, but this is my dream car, and something that I could totally justify doing.

I wanted to keep this brief, so let’s move on to things that I want to do in the coming year. As mentioned I want to learn to use my sewing machine and make my own items of clothing, to improve my knitting skills. But I also want to do other things – like using my camera more often, say once a week, using my computer more often, write a new book, or improve one of the old ones I’ve written, do NaNoWriMo again, go on some random trips with my sister, my boyfriend, even on my own, just to see where things go! And to read a few more books this year than I did in the last, maybe around 50, but even that target seems a bit high at the moment.

Okay, I’m going to leave it there for now, and maybe, just maybe, I’ll update this blog at least once a week – knitting, writing, photography, just about everything. It’s time to stop neglecting this, and generally have a fulfilling year just like last year.

Keep safe folks, and I hope you had a great new year!

Kialtho

