Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Since my last post about going to London I have had a mildly busy week. I was planning to post a couple of days ago but I didn’t quite get around to it. I did however want to share with you my most recent makes – I have made and completed two Sackboy’s, from Little Big Planet, in the last week. I love the character, and just how much character he has, that when I found the patter I just had to make him. Between making the two of them, and the last toy I made [the polar bear] I have used up the vast amount of my toy stuffing, which of course means my Sackboy Army will have to wait a bit until I get some more.

These are such great, and when using the correct yarn, very quick to make. It took a very short amount of time to make the body, arms and legs on Friday, and some of the head. On Saturday he was finished and put together, the only thing I have to do on the second Sackboy is put the whipping stitches/decorations on. When making them there was a difference in making the first and second as the first Sackboy was made with DK doubled up, and the second was made with the recommended yarn in the pattern. When making the second Sackboy I also used much bigger needles as my tension is usually pretty tight. The only downside it would seem to this is that he seems to have a disproportionately large head – he’s supposed to a degree, but this just looks huge! I love how he’s turned out though, and will certainly be making more of him! [So, this means that I have something like three Sackboy’s waiting to be made, and I am sure that I will make more for a certain someone’s birthday/Christmas present in the next year].

So whilst I delay going out and buying more yarn for little Sackboy #3 [probably the one that Alex wants] I will have to find another project to make. I have an idea to make a cowl with some Debbie Bliss Andes yarn but I have about 1000 metres of it in three different colourways, and I am not 100 per cent sure if I can make something work in it. I’d like to make shawl with it, but I’m not sure if there’s enough for a big shawl [I’d want a big shawl haha] and I’d like to try some lacy type of pattern but I think it may be a bit too big for that type of thing.

We went, as a family, to my brothers today for dinner [he does the absolutely best roast potatoes ever!] and we spent time with the whole family. It was nice, and peaceful. I spent some time with my niece cross stitching, something that I used to do a great deal of before I discovered my ability to knit. I have been requested to make an Hermione Granger costume of some description for next year’s World Book Day – which is cool because I already planned on making her a book bag, pattern from Ravelry – for her birthday, assuming that I can find a nice Aran weight yarn in gold or yellow. Red isn’t such an issue. She saw a pattern for a jumper that she would like as well similar to the jumper that was worn in Order of the Phoenix… but I am thinking that if she’s going whole hog a Hogwarts jumper would probably be better. It’s something to look into, and I am sure that I will enjoy making everything that will go with it!

In the past week I’ve managed to make some progress with my book The Map in Time and hopefully I will finish that within the next week or so. It’s taken a bit longer than I would have liked to read as I find that I am not as interested in it as I would like to be – but I’ll do a separate post on that when the book is finished. I can’t wait for this book to be over though as there is so much more that I want to read – the next thing that is on my list of things to read is Night of the Triffids which my friend from work has lent me, and is a sequent to John Wyndam’s Day of the Triffids, although it is written by someone else. We are both going through a Triffid obsession at the moment, and whilst I am not entirely sure how this came about it is one of those books that creates something within you and makes you think of the man eating plants at entirely random moments. And of course, I’d like to return to the Game of Thrones series, alongside other books.

Anyways, I shall leave it there for now as I would really like to go to bed [yes, at 21:00 on a Sunday] as it’s been a busy few days!

Take it easy, and keep creating!

Kialtho

