Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Again, it’s been sometime since my last update – I’ve had a fairly busy few weeks it just feels like I haven’t stopped for three weeks straight. Busy days, and weeks, at work followed by prepping for Alex’s birthday [or more importantly, Alex’s birthday cake] which took the best part of two nights, and some organisation of transporting it 20 miles away from my home.

I have also been working on knitting the baby blanket for my sister’s colleague, which feels as though it is making extremely slow progress. However, progress it is, and I only have nine more pattern repeats to do. [There are ten in total, so it’s not as epically finished as it could be]. It’s made from Hayfield Baby yarn and feels really quite soft and nice. I hope this turns out better than the last project.

This post however isn’t about the knitting or the cake, as it something that I have made before with a couple of minor changes and additions, nor is it about the knitting, as mentioned making slow but steady progress.

This post is about the most recent book I’ve read. The book is “A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow” and is part of the Game of Thrones [“A Song of Ice and Fire”] series, so be warned that there may be some spoilers for the previous books, but I’ll try to avoid them for this book if you’re thinking of reading.

I was apprehensive about picking up this book, I’ll be honest, as it took me something like four months to read “A Clash of Kings” which was simply a struggle. In fact, I didn’t realise that some of the stuff that happened at the end of “A Clash of Kings” actually happened, such as Catelyn releasing Jamie Lannister in exchange for her daughters. [Arya, of course not actually being held captive by Cersi yet still is managing to get kidnapped in each book by someone else].

I think the first thing that should be said is that “A Storm of Swords” [for reference, I will only be talking about part one, not the second part as I haven’t quite got that far yet!] is that it is much better than its’ predecessor in that it kept my interest and I was able to read it at a much better and steady pace. I think there are certain sections of the book that are simply filler, like the chapters from Davos Seaworth’s perspective. His entire storyline could have been summarised in one chapter which would have saved a whole lot of trees. Or E-ink. [I read this on the Kindle.]

Jaime’s storyline was far more interesting and made me at least sympathise with him when he had succumbed to his and Brienne’s capturers. He was still annoying in the way that he was constantly thinking about Brienne and her “manliness” yet as soon as he was naked around her he wanted to pounce on her, citing his reaction to missing his incestuous relationship with the Queen Regent Cersi.

My two favourite characters are Daenerys and Arya. Partly, I think because they are both strong female characters and seem to wallow a lot less on the rough deal they have been dealt [unlike many of the male characters, and even Catelyn] and just getting on with sorting out their lives and fighting for what they believe in. Daenerys dragons are also made of win; especially as in this book the Khaleesi has been training them to do her bidding. Arya, on the other hand, has a tendency to be captured, but certainly has learnt to stand her ground when needed, when to fade into the background when she knows that it’s better for her. In the third book she started off on the run from Harrenhal, and the people that she’s captured by deals justice to a group of people that deserves it, although Jaime would probably be pissed that he couldn’t deliver that said justice himself.

Jon Snow’s character seems to have developed some as well and I can generally understand his whining at the lot that he’s been dealt being a “Black Brother” taking vows of celibacy, of his duty at protecting the world yet having to betray his brotherhood on the orders of someone else. That won’t go down well when he returns to Castle Black. If he returns. And the closeness at the end to one of his brothers without realising it, and knowing that they wouldn’t actually meet was a little heartbreaking.

I am looking forwards to watching both the second and third series of Game of Thrones when I can get a hold of them as despite the filler feel of some of these chapters, it is an addictive ride and a refreshing one too as it isn’t a fantasy directed at young adults, but rather for the adult market considering the themes.

I am feeling a need to knit something Game of Thrones related because at the end of the day I am quite the geek.

My next book is going to be “Daughter of Smoke and Bone” by Laini Taylor.

Keep on smilling,

Kialtho

