Tags

, ,

There are five hours left this All Hallowed Eve and something terrifying is lurking deep in the witching hour.

November will be here. November. Some may lament that this seems to have arrived with an unnecessarily fast pace, to which I would agree, others are looking forward to the eleventh month for other reasons; The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, Doctor Who and Sherlock, but dear readers, that is the end of the month. We have fireworks first, and the celebration of one of the most famous [failed] terrorist attacks Britain has experienced.

But first, dear readers, first, we have November 1st. November 1st is when crazy like-minded people get together and form an entirely new relationship with their laptops and [attempt] to write a 50,000 word novel. Yes, you heard me right, a 50,000 word novel. It sounds like an astonishing challenge, but with a little dedication and support that target can be achieved.

I have taken part in this challenge since 2007, missing 2008 and 2013, and of those years the only time I failed the challenge was in my first year. This year I am entering with a much fresher head, and startlingly, no plot. Most years I’ve worked with a basic plot, I’ve had alternate fantasy, secret government conspiracies, time travelling steam-punk themed end of the world stuff and some witches. That’s the themes in a nutshell.

This year I have the slightly more scary notion of not having a plot, or even any characters. Every year I have had a character or idea to work from, of how I wanted the story to go – this year all I have is the idea of an old, tumbledown hospital. And some ghosts. Even as I write this, I’ve had a brief idea of how to make this work into a storyline, but really, I don’t know where I stand.

But this is happening. I took last year off, and this is happening.

Most years I have blogged my progress via a NaBlo challenge as well, but this year I think I’ll aim to do weekly updates and see how that works. I also have some knitting to finish off, a book to finish, and the gym to attend. So it’s going to make it a more interesting challenge this year. I will plan my days so that there will be 5k days and more to balance out the words.

So, November is upon us; what will the witching hour bring you?

Keep on Novelling…

Kialtho

