Tags

, , , ,

So I think it’s been a out a week since my first NaNo update. Today I bring this blog from my shiny new Kindle HD Fire so here’s hoping that it makes sense when I eventually press that “publish” button.

As you may be able to tell I love my technology. I wasn’t planning to buy this kindle seeing as I have a perfectly good one to read my books on but they are much better value for money compared to the iPad. So, let’s see how this blog fairs through this medium today?

In terms of my NaNo I’ve had a fairly good week where I’ve managed to stay ahead of the word count target for the most part. I lagged towards the end of the week as the typical real life stuff got in the way, and then there are the times you stare blankly at the screen wanting to write but no words are willing to flow through your fingertips. The other things I’ve come to realise is that I can’t write when external influences are stressing me out. Stress is an odd thing for me as I never used to feel it, and I can work under pressure quite easily, but lately when I’m stressed (because of work, which is a constant at the moment) then I’m less likely to get where I want to be. I’ve made a huge effort to separate my two lives this week and actually it’s something I’ll be doing more of in the future, and where I’ve separated out the two I have managed to keep up the writing.

What I originally planned my plot to be and what it is turning into is two completely different things. That being said I feel as though it is better than the novel I wrote about Amelia Ravensbourne last year or the year before (I can’t remember when I have and haven’t done this challenged to be honest). I feel now that I have a decent amount of unfinished stories behind me, all with a decent word count with them this is the time to look through, to plan, to rewrite and see what happens with them. Writing is where I feel free. No one but myself will read these stories for the time being, and maybe one day I’ll be able to publish some of these for the wider world to see. It takes dedication, and something that I have said in previous years but have never seemed to have committed to.

As I write this blog today I finish a day (+/- about 30 words) ahead of tomorrow’s count. I plan to hit 25k by Tuesday. I may even join in a write-in in a near by town, but my ability to interact with people has diminished quite a lot so I am a little apprehensive about the idea of meeting brand new people. I joined the local WriMo webpage and their Facebook page so that’s a start right?

I’ll leave it there for today as I have a lot to get done for today and not a lot of time to do it.

Keep on writing folks,

Kialtho

