Tags

, , ,

On Wednesday I hit the 50,000 word target for NaNoWriMo. I was planning on blogging about this feat sooner but it was quite late on Wednesday that I finished, and then yesterday I went to Gala Bingo [or something like that] so didn’t have the time to write then either.

This year has been good for a couple of reasons; I hit that word count target much earlier than I have ever done it before, and I actually finished the plot – as in – there was an actual, if slightly ambiguous ending.

This year was the first time I went to a write in since I left university. I think the first year after I left I arranged one or two but I couldn’t actually make them in the end, or if I did go I didn’t spend all that much time there. As I mentioned in a previous post I was really apprehensive to begin with as I struggle in social situations, something that I never used to do, but the people that I met were so nice and lovely, and I would like to think that I have made a friend or two there.

There was only about four of us at the write ins each week, but that was cool. We did sprints and general writing, and these days I found were really productive for me – the most I wrote on any one day during November was a little under 6,000 words which is also the most I have written in any one day in any November that I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo.

Of course, now that it’s over [more or less anyways] the question is what comes next?

My plan is to sort out everything I need to do for Christmas – baking, knitting, cards, letters , shopping – and then perhaps map out the plot I have written and storyboard it. I think out of all the novels I have written this is the first one that I have thought would be good enough to be published and if I want to go along with that then I will need to work on it.

To all those that are struggling; I know you can do it. It might take some blood, sweat and tears, but you can get there and get the purple winners bar.

To all those that have already got there – congratulations! It’s been a hectic month, don’t you think?

I’ll leave it there for now,

Kialtho

50,504/50,000

 

