Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare

 Synopsis:

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

I had such high hopes for this book. Not counting the fact that “The Mortal Instruments” series is really popular, and I wanted to see what Clare’s writing was all about by reading “Infernal Devices” if only because it was the series that wasn’t being made into a film at the time – I had such high, misguided hopes.

I love Steampunk; I’m sure I have mentioned this in the past. There’s a magic to Steampunk that’s so engrossing. This is made not just by the world that Steampunk is set in; whether it’s England or America, but also the characters. This book didn’t have either. In fact, I am amazed that I reached the end of it.

Let’s start with London. I was discussing the book with Nuri and this is the only conclusion that she could see [she’s a London tour guide – she knows about the place…]. London in Clare’s universe must have been based on this photo:

Why? I hear you asking.

Everything the author describes about the city, the weather, the streets, the Institute is always “gray”. There’s never anything else. Even when the sun is shining in the book, it’s still gray. Had the author even visited London today there are enough historical buildings around to show that London is distinctly NOT a gray city. Historically, there would have been a lot more industrial smoke, I’ll give you that, but seriously? Even a little bit of research would have revealed that not everything was gray ALL THE TIME. Ugh.

The other part that made this book particularly boring to read was the characters. I cannot think of a single character that was actually interesting. The main character Tessa GRAY was a bore, and the Shadowhunters who were supposed to be an impressive bunch of people just weren’t interesting. The author had to reiterate every few pages how young they all were how pretty and amazing they were and it was actually all a bit too much to bear.

From this one book I very much doubt I will be reading the next one – perhaps I’ll just catch up on the plot on Wikipedia or something I am so disinclined to read any more in either of the series.

I could write better than this, and in fact I am fairly certain that I have.

Perhaps my next book will be more interesting,

Take care folks,

Kialtho

