Tags

, , , , ,

Before I even post the synopsis from GoodReads I warn anyone reading this post that I very much doubt that I will be able to write about “Allegiant” without including SPOILERS. I emphasise this point as I was reading a blog about something completely unrelated and the author just happened to throw one of the major revelations from this book. If you haven’t read this book, and you intend too, DO NOT READ THIS BLOG AS I CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT IT WILL BE SPOILER FREE.

Understood?

Synopsis via GoodReads:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

Before I started considering what to put in my review I did happen to glance over a few at GoodReads to see what the general consensus of it was. There’s a huge split in what people thought about the book, and the typical “I’ve read all three books and all three books are rubbish” cropped up a few times. [I tend to ignore these more than anything as it’s a bit ridiculous reading three whole books if you dislike them…]

When I rated the book I decided to give it five stars [out of five]. I know that this isn’t exactly a literally masterpiece, and I am also aware of areas that could have probably been a bit better, but my reasoning boils down to this: I enjoyed the ride, regardless of the ending.

This whole series evoked emotions in me that a lot of books haven’t done recently. I enjoyed seeing things from Tris’ perspective, and whilst it was different to read things from Tobias’ perspective these didn’t feel like a unique entity to Tris – the narration didn’t have a lot of differentiation between the two characters, and sometimes it was only half way through a perspective change that I had realised the point of view had changed.

The whole idea of genetics is also very interesting – but needed more fleshing out. I can understand why that sort of thing wasn’t introduced in the first two books considering the nature of “Chicago,” however it did feel a bit like… look at this awesome idea that you won’t be able to get away from.

Maybe… maybe the thing that made it all feel that bit more forced is that Tris and co are forced from one revolutionary situation and thrust into a world that they know nothing about, the information they are then given turns out to be biased and yet more revolutions are planned. I think it would have worked better had this been split into two books – one of the escape and learning about the outside world – the history, the life, the government and the genetics [this could still be interesting, I don’t mean to read a book on history etc.] and then a book on the action – the revolution. Maybe it would have felt less rushed and the history more fleshed out.

One of the things that I did have a problem with was the whole use of serums – in particular the memory serum. Whatever the case the memory serums shouldn’t have been used at all, not on Chicago, and certainly not by Tris to do exactly the same that she fought to stop happening on the people that she loved. That was not okay.

But still… in the context of the story it worked.

Tris’ death is something that I felt was particularly meaningless in that it didn’t really achieve anything. I know it’s all about making sacrifices for the right reasons, but I don’t really feel as though the story really gained anything from her death. I guess by doing it Roth ensured the ending of the book, and didn’t allow the happy ever after thing… maybe she doesn’t believe in it. Perhaps in the sort of society that Tris lived in, her death was inevitable – Dauntless, young etc.

I liked the brief glimpse of Chicago after all that had happened, and the potential that the city had become a safe haven for all those considered being Genetically Damaged – and that perhaps there was some degree of change – but not caused directly by Tris’ death.

I know people have a lot of strong feelings about this series, and this book – what were yours?

I enjoyed the ride for sure, and hope this is a series that I re-read again in the future.

Keep safe folks!

Kialtho

