Tags

, , , , , , ,

Is It Just Me? – Miranda Hart

GoodReads Description:

Well hello to you dear browser. Now I have your attention it would be rude if I didn’t tell you a little about my literary feast. So, here is the thing: is it just me or does anyone else find that adulthood offers no refuge from the unexpected horrors, peculiar lack of physical coordination and sometimes unexplained nudity, that accompanied childhood and adolescence?

Does everybody struggle with the hazards that accompany, say, sitting elegantly on a bar stool; using chopsticks; pretending to understand the bank crisis; pedicures – surely it’s plain wrong for a stranger to fondle your feet? Or is it just me?

I am proud to say I have a wealth of awkward experiences – from school days to life as an office temp – and here I offer my 18-year-old self (and I hope you too dear reader) some much needed caution and guidance on how to navigate life’s rocky path.

Because frankly where is the manual? The much needed manual to life. Well, fret not, for this is my attempt at one and let’s call it, because it’s fun, a Miran-ual. I thank you.

So before I begin writing about “Is It Just Me?” there are a couple of things to note – this is a non-fiction book. I don’t typically read non-fiction, in fact, the last non-fiction book I read was Michael McIntyre’s book about his life.

Miranda is a British comedian, if you weren’t aware, appearing in “Not Going Out”, her own show “Miranda”, and more recently she’s starred in “Call the Midwife”. Aside from this I must confess that I didn’t know all that much about her, her upbringing or anything like that.

The book itself is written in a way that you simply can’t read it without hearing Miranda’s own voice in place of your own, and as you read away you can certainly imagine the anecdotes alongside her, and even though I don’t know much about her…. it suits down to a T.

I didn’t really know what to expect from this book – I wasn’t sure if it was going to be auto-biographical [it is a little bit, but I wouldn’t say overwhelmingly so], I wasn’t sure what the purpose of the book was – but it becomes clear as you read away. Miranda employs the use of her “18 year old self” to impart her knowledge and wisdom of her own life to her younger self – essentially the “what would you tell your younger self, knowing what you know now” kind of scenario. She does this well, I would say, as she covers a plethora of topics from diets [eat less, move more], beauty [no one ever likes sitting in front of the hairdressers mirror], holidays [wahoo, holiday!], Christmas [SUCH FUN!] and so on. Each topic is a tale of Miranda induced wisdom that essentially reads at the end of it all: Be true to yourself, don’t be afraid to be yourself, and always follow your dreams.

I really liked this – the whole book wasn’t like I expected at all, and I am pleased that I took the time to read it for sure. I seem to have Miranda’s voice stuck in my head at the moment though! I gave this book 4 stars on GoodReads [I have to say I don’t really know what the stars means though…] simply because it comes down to this: I enjoyed reading it, and it made me laugh out loud, quite literally. If you need a laugh and to be nodding your head along in agreement to some of the things that suggests that there are things that really we aren’t alone in, this is the book for you.

Upon finishing this particular book it apparently brings the total books read this year up to 7. I thought I had read more than that, and it certainly looks disappointingly low considering my GoodReads target for the year is 40 [which is also low in comparison to some of my friends as well as they span into the 100’s – I do have full time work to contend with, and also my knitting, the gym, and trying to maintain my blog… so maybe I can justify it]. With a total of 7 books read it puts me 4 books behind target.

Each year I taken part in the GoodReads challenge I have failed, so this year I would really like to reach that target of 40. The next book on my list is “Dreams of Gods and Monsters” by Laini Taylor as I pre-ordered in the week and it turned up on Friday. It looks huge. It is also signed by the author!

Take it easy folks,

Kialtho

