Tags

, , , , ,

When I first made this blog under my internet pseudonym “Kialtho” I also made another called “Cook Kitch” [there was more to it than that, but I can’t remember it]. I only made two ever posts to it and fully meant to write more about the stuff I made, but I became quite attached to “Kialtho” [so much so… I wouldn’t mind changing my name to it, but that isn’t ever likely to happen] that I really neglected and forgot about the “Cook Kitch” blog. Quite recently I deleted the domain name so that in the unlikely event that someone else comes up with the name they can actually have it.

What I want to do here is to introduce a section on baking for my blog. I already write about my knitting, about the books that I read week in/ week out, and the occasional things in-between. I have written about some of the bakes I have made before in this blog – like my castle cakes made last year.

I think one of the reasons that I neglected the blog was because I didn’t create enough time to write about them – that, and my creations aren’t some awesome, stun your pants off display piece that you just wouldn’t want to eat because they are that awesome. The bakes I share with you, and the recipes [assuming that it’s something generic and not copyrighted… not getting sued would be great!]. The bakes that I offer to share here are home made, traditional recipes, perhaps with a bit of flare. And maybe the awesome cheesecake that I make because that will be an instant hit with everyone that you introduce it too… except maybe the lactose intolerant.

So kick this off I want to share a basic Victoria Sponge recipe, which is one of the easiest cakes to bake, and also pretty quick to whip up especially if you’re in a hurry.

Omnomnom

Omnomnom

Victoria Sponge: Ingredients:

6oz Self Raising Flour

6oz Caster Sugar [if you weren’t aware or are new to baking and just wanted to know… caster sugar is a finer grain of sugar than normal granulated sugar, which makes for smoother, tastier cakes.]. If you’re diabetic or on a diet sugar can be substituted for a sweetener, just make sure to read the recommendations on the label to see what it needs to be. I’ve found this to be typically to the ten grams rather than the hundred. [so for 6oz it would be something like 17.5 grams which is a lot when you weigh it out].

6oz Butter [I tend to use real butter, or Stork… I haven’t tried the liquid butters though].

2 Large Eggs, or 3 Medium Eggs [I usually don’t measure what I pick up, sort of just judge it by texture as I am mixing the batter.

Additional butter for making a butter icing, although this isn’t strictly necessary, just something that I like

Icing Sugar [for the butter icing, see above]

Jam – whatever flavour you would prefer – I tend to use strawberry, but typically mixed flavour works best I think.

Method:

Preheat your oven. I usually use gas mark 5 [375F I think], sometimes even 6 [400?] because I know what our oven is like.

Grease two sponge tins using butter and a little of the flour, ensuring the whole of each tin is lined.

Mix the butter and the sugar together [or, you know, if you’re feeling lazy use a blender], until lightened in colour. Don’t forget the finger test as you go ;)

Add a small amount of flour [some people sift… I cannot usually be bothered with that] and add an egg and mix together. Add the remaining flour and egg at regular intervals until gone. The batter should be pliable, viscous but able to run a little bit.

Pour the batter evenly between two sponge dishes, and place on the top shelf of the oven. It takes approximately 30 minutes to bake, but monitor semi-regularly. You’ll know it’s cooked by inserting a knife into the centre and taking back out again. If batter mix comes out on the knife then it needs to cook for a little longer.

Once fully cooked, take out of the oven and allow to cool for a minute or so. Run a knife [preferably a palette knife, but a bluntish knife should do assuming you haven’t burnt it to the tin] around the edge, and carefully turn out onto a wire rack and allow to cool.

Once cooled, mix the butter with some icing sugar. I’m not the worlds best at judging this, but I am sure there are plenty of Google results for the perfect requirements. Once you have the perfect butter icing, and the sponges are cooled down completely gently spread over one of the sponges.

Add some jam, but actually in this instance less is more otherwise you risk the two sponges sliding off each other. I always seem to muck this bit up by adding too much jam. I can’t help it. I love strawberry jam!

Place the second piece of sponge gently on top and sprinkle a bit of icing to dust the cake, et voila!

One of the easiest cakes in the world to make, if I do say so myself!

I hope that this was a clear way of working, and I hope to improve the format as I do more of these blogs. And, next time I’ll have more than just the one picture of the whole process!

Thanks for your time, feel free to drop a comment, they make me feel loved!

Until next time,

Kialtho

