Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

“X-Men – Days of Future Past”

When I was growing up I used to love watching the “X-Men: Evolution” cartoon on TV. I’ve always been a little obsessed with them, although I wouldn’t have a clue where to start reading the comics [comics intimidate me just a little bit, so many issues! So much to have missed if you miss a single issue!]. I use to watch the original X Men cartoon as well, you know, the one where Rogue could fly, and had that husky, sexy “sugar” voice?

I’ve loved the films equally as much. In fact I’m fairly certain I spent a great deal of time obsessing over the first film. Rogue has always been a fascination of mine – and her coat in the first film was just plain awesome [perhaps when I can sew just a bit better I would be able to make something like that eh?]. I must confess that I have yet to watch “The Last Stand”, although I know most of the big plot events from it.

X-Men: First Class started an origins tale for Professor X and Magneto, and was really well done, and I liked how this also translated into “Days of Future Past” which I loved as it had both the old and the new cast in. Sir Patrick Stewart is one of my favourite actors, and have you noticed how he never seems to age? [Tea. Earl Grey. Hot].

I think there was greater expectations on Days of Future Past, at least from myself, as it was the merging of the two worlds. And of course when this happens there’s also the whole notion of where and when the plot is set [1970’s], the characters that are to be introduced [weird speedy guy that I didn’t get the name of], Trusk [The IMP, no more needs to be said…]. There were some typically brilliant actors and actresses in this. I like how there was a lot of British actors too, and not *all* of them evil. Okay… so I think it was all but one wasn’t evil.

I really liked how they dealt with the effects of Xavier’s injury at the end of the last film, and how his whole life was put on hold, the choices he had to make in lieu of the injury. And Eric as well, he once again having to escape a plastic prison and showing that he wasn’t the all powerful that he seems to take on.

The timeline was a little confusing, but I think that’s so if you take into account the comics. That being said, I haven’t watched the X-Men Wolverine films – I actually can’t give you a reason why that is, but I just haven’t watched them, so I can’t really comment on it. I did have to cringe every time Wolverine got out his bone claws, and just how did they not shatter every time he struck just about anything? And… well… why did he have claws in the first place? I genuinely thought that they were something to do with the Adamantium [sp?] metal, not actual bone.

All the unique powers that everyone had in battling the Sentinels, Kitty rocked in a I’m completely out of the way but totally vital to the storyline kind of way, and the girl who could to the weird teleporting thing was also pretty cool. The exploration of Eric and Charles’ relationship was also refreshing in a “we’re not always trying to kill each other” kind of way, continuing from First Class.

I did think that the ending was a little bit of a cop out… a little too much happily ever after. Also… if you’ve seen this… what was with *her* hair at the end? Didn’t it seem a little *too* distinctive?

There is so much that I would love to be able to talk about here, but for some reason I cannot seem to find the words to flesh this out. Perhaps I can talk about it again when it’s released on Blu-Ray.

Watching these films always made me want to “realise” my own superpowers; if you had the genetic mutations that allowed you unique gifts… what would they be?

Take it easy,

Kialtho

[P.S.: Tomorrow I am going to see “A Million Ways to Die in the Wild West” which just looks side splittingly funny, I’ll probably write about that at some point in the near future!]

