Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve finished my first ever pair of toe up socks:

IMG_0420

This took a little longer than I anticipated as I took a break to start a new book, and then went to Scotland for a few days [which I keep meaning to write about and then forgetting…] despite this, it feels as though these socks were certainly quicker to knit than the previous socks that I have knit [TARDIS socks, I am looking at you…]. This is actually the third pair of socks that I have made, but in reality, I think they are the first pair that I am likely to wear. I haven’t worn the TARDIS socks at all, and the aran weight ones I made I tend to use in the winter in a slipper sort of fashion to keep me warm and toasty.

This yarn is “Just. Perfect.” from Black Market Wool, and I won it during the HeliopathKAL for finishing on time, and it was time to use it.

This project has taught me two main techniques: Judy’s Magic Cast on, and short row heel shaping – which I am not convinced I got right, but a heel appeared, and a sock was made!

I have already wound my “Animal” skein for my next project [another Hitchhiker, this one for Alex].

IMG_0423

Sorry that this is short, I am struggling to concentrate today!

Take it easy folks,

Kialtho

