Tags

, , , ,

Brighton Unwind

Yesterday Alex and I went to Brighton Unwind, the inaugural yarn fair held at the Brighton Dome. This was the first time I have ever been to anything like this, so I totally had no idea what to expect, except the gushing reviews on Ravelry. I took Alex with me for two reasons: I didn’t want to go on my own, because I wasn’t sure if I would have gone in on my own [just lately I seem to get anxious about doing anything like that], and two, it was nice to spend the time with him… even if he isn’t a knitter.

Alex enjoyed touching up a lot of the yarn for sure though, so it’s not like I made him into a knitting widower or anything like that.

There was so much to chose from, and so many indie dyers from the UK – it was lovely to see them in the flesh. I certainly discovered new companies yesterday, and will no doubt use them again in the future.

IMG_0424

I didn’t actually spend/buy all that much stuff though, and I think had I spent more time there I would certainly have spent more money. As it is I only walked away with a five skeins of yarn [I say “only”, you know what I mean]. I bought three skeins from easyknits.co.uk, and two from Sparkle Ducks, and joined both their groups on Ravelry as well – because that’s what it’s there for!

We didn’t stay all that long in the marketplace only because of how hot it was. I didn’t feel so well, and feeling the sweat running down my back wasn’t all that pleasant, so we went back out into the fresh air.

I would definitely go again, and would certainly by *more*… but perhaps I need to use up some of my stash first – which to be fair I have a lot of stuff planned for what I already have so it’s all good.

Of the stuff pictured, the red and blue easy knits is destined to be a pair of socks – and actually should make *two* pairs of socks. The light blue/green is lace weight, and may become a Mermaid’s Song shawl from the HP Knits magazine – if there’s enough – but then I could always order more from the website. This feels so soft, and beautiful… and actually has seaweed fibre in it!

The other two I’m not sure what I‘m going to make yet, but they are beautiful. I bought the variegated one from easy knits because of the name.

Anyways, that’s all for now folks,

Kialtho

