Tags

, , , , , ,

 

I have mentioned before how important certain things are in my life – things like Harry Potter. Harry Potter has played such an important part in my life – from the age of about 8 or 9. I have blogged before about the friends that I have made through Harry Potter, from the people that I have met online to the people that I have met in real life. Harry Potter has touched on almost, if not all, parts of my life.

Last weekend I had the opportunity to meet up with some of the best, and closest friends that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. We all “met” online something like seven or eight years ago, through the website “fanfiction.net”, of course through the Harry Potter section. I have actually been part of the website since 2003, but we didn’t meet until the forums were re-introduced sometime later, through something called “The Reviews Lounge”.

We broke all the rules of internet security back then, you know, don’t reveal anything about yourself, where you come from and all that. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting other members of our group, but this was the first time more than one of us, I believe, had met up together. Naturally, because we met through the nature of Harry Potter, I deemed it worthy of having proper Harry Potter filled weekend, which included a tour of London by Nuri of Harry Potter locations from the films, and some of the inspirations from the books, including “Honeydukes”, Diagon Alley, and Knockturn Alley.

We also went to the Harry Potter Studio Tour, which was just so, so awesome. If you love Harry Potter, and enjoy everything about Harry Potter, it’s worth a visit. I learnt so, so much there about the films, and it was just amazing! For instance, the individual broomstick handles tips for the death eaters were hand cast in resin, washed with acid, and then cast in silver. They also matched each death eaters mask, which were all unique to the character, and cast in the same way – and the handle tips were something that we probably didn’t see watching the films.

We also visited other places like Camden Town [I brought a Time Turner], we also had loads to eat, like Nando’s, Wagamama’s and food from Camden.

I should have written this before as the details tend to disappear, but seriously, this was one of the best four days in my life, meeting these people that have been part of my life for such a long time – to have the physical memories of us being together. It was something that wasn’t at all awkward because we’ve known each other and been friends for that amount of time. It didn’t feel like it was the first time that we had all met for sure, and I certainly look forwards to being able to meet up with them again!

I feel like I am failing for not writing enough here, but I it was such an awesome experience that I am finding it hard to express how I felt about the whole thing… except that it was something unlike I had experienced before, and no doubt will be sometime before we can all get together again.

That’s all for now folks, take it easy,

KialthoIMG_8638IMG_0275

