Tags

, , , , , ,

After seeing the trailer for the film to “The Maze Runner” just a few days ago I knew I wanted to read the book before going to see the film. So I did, in three sittings. It would have gone quicker if something like Real Life hadn’t got in the way. [I’m not so sure my boss would appreciated me saying I can’t come in for my shift because I was reading…].


Synopsis:

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

Whilst this book is clearly targeted for a young, male audience, I really enjoyed this read. It was quick, there was a lot of pace, and I couldn’t guess at what was going to happen in the end – it’s always a little depressing when you can guess where a plot is going.

Of course, that’s not to say that this book isn’t without it’s faults. The lack of answers is infuriating from the word go; but then, the situation that they are in, answers are fewer than questions. Teresa has the potential to be a much more interesting character; she’s sidelined a bit in terms of character development. But then in an all-boy dominated society, perhaps she would have been anyway.

The ending was ridiculous. I want to read the next book already! [I shan’t, I’ll read something else in-between, otherwise it can get a bit dizzying staying in the same world]. That epilogue! Of course, it does raise a few questions about the nature of diseases, of how they spread… and was there a flicker of a zombies, or perhaps did I just read that wrong?

Have you read this book? What did you think?

Watch this space for a blog about the film when it’s released here in a few weeks, and then the following books I am sure!

Take it easy,

Kialtho

