Tags

, , , , , ,

I have so much to blog about – especially after what seems like a blog silence as well, but I don’t plan to talk about it all in this entry. Today I am going to write about my most recent knitting project, but I also have a blog in the works about my recent trip to Amsterdam which  I hope to post tomorrow.

Today I want to talk about the knitting project I was working on though, because it felt like I was working on it for the longest time! If anyone that reads this is a regular you’ll know that I’m a one project horse [I can’t imagine working on more than one project at a time, I think it would drive me insane trying to pick up where I left off and wondering what I was working on].IMG_0835

This morning I put the finishing touches on my Shawl Collar Vest. This was a really easy and stylish knit, one that I’m very happy with. The photo’s, as usual, don’t seem to do the colour any justice, the purple is beautiful in real life. The yarn I used is yet another of Hobbycraft’s own “Women’s Institute Smooth and Silky” in Aran weight. I choose this brand of yarn as it’s a beautiful acrylic, and most definitely doesn’t feel like an acrylic yarn. It really is smooth and silky, and has some great stitch definition. Plus, this particular type of yarn appeals to the laziness in me: coming in 400g balls requires much less sewing up at the end… nobody can argue with that!IMG_0836

It took a long time to come together – this project has taken about a month in total, but then I was quite ill with that awful virus that was going around, and then there was the house move as well. There were days that I didn’t get any knitting done at all which certainly made me antsy – knitting keeps me calm and focused. [I didn’t get any done in Amsterdam either as I only took hand luggage, and the knitting wouldn’t fit in my backpack].

This will be a great springtime cardigan, something to keep the chill off my shoulders but keeping my arms bare [for some reason I hate my shoulders on display]. What do you think? I’d like to think that I will make another in a different colour, but that will be something for the future. Other future knits include another Heliopath Vest, and another OWLs sweater.

My next project is something that I hope I stick with as I’m going to be learning a new technique: Double Knitting. The pattern that I am working from is from an issue of Knit Now from a while back, and is what I am hoping to be relatively simple even though it’s working from a chart. I think this will be a case of concentrating, and persevering.

Watch this space!

What are you working on at the moment?

Kialtho

