Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This is one of those books that appealed to me from the very beginning, and I was very much stalking the bookstore when the release date came and went, and to my disappointment it just didn’t seem to be stocked over here, which immediately made me assume that it was American. Imagine my surprise to read British English spellings, and that it’s based in a post- apocalyptic London.


Synopsis:

What if the end of the world was just the beginning?

Alice Davenport awakens from a fever to find her mother gone and the city she lives in ravaged by storms – with few survivors.

When Alice is finally rescued, she is taken to a huge underground bunker owned by the mysterious Paradigm Industries. As the storms worsen, the hatches close.

87 years later, amidst the ruins of London, the survivors of the Storms have reinvented society. The Model maintains a perfect balance – with inhabitants routinely frozen until they are needed by the Industry.

Fifteen-year-old Carter Warren knows his time has come. Awoken from the catacombs as a contender for the role of Controller General, it is his destiny to succeed – where his parents failed.

But Carter soon discovers that the world has changed, in ways that make him begin to question everything that he believes in. As Carter is forced to fight for those he loves and even for his life, it seems that the key to the future lies in the secrets of the past…

In this novel we are introduced with two very different characters, in two very different times. Alice Davenport is a just 11 or 12 when we first meet her, forgotten about in society with a prostitute for a mother and neglect in her life. Carter Warren is a teenager groomed for great things, so long as he can prove himself. Linked in these two stories are the storms that have devastated the world, and the society that Alice Davenport sets up, the one that Carter Warren lives in.

There is a lot of unexplored ideas – that we maybe introduced to later on – such as the cryogenics – if your skills aren’t needed in society then you go into the big freeze. We have Carter Warren, parentless – and I was convinced throughout this novel that this was going to follow the formula of dead parents are really alive, but that wasn’t the case… and that was good.

In the years between Carter Warren being frozen and being awake something has happened in this perfect post-devastation society that has the leaders upping the security. Arts and crafts, music, hobbies they don’t exist, they aren’t seen as necessary. It’s all about the Model, the perfect society and how everyone fits, works and produces in that society. It’s an interesting concept, and one that I found refreshing in a genre that seems to be littered with the same old story.

I did find that half way through the book the pace lagged a little, but it did pick up to the slightly predictable ending [which I shan’t spoil for you, should you decide to read this].

I’ve given this 4 stars on GoodReads, which I think is appropriate, although I did hover over the 3 star button as well. I look forward to reading  the next book in the series for sure!

Have you read this book? What did you think?

Kialtho


 

For the first time in how many years I’ve been taking part in the GoodReads reading challenge I AM ON TARGET. This makes me very happy, so I had to share. 40 books doesn’t sound like much, but with the knitting, and full time work and just life in general, I don’t seem to have enough time for reading!

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 21.39.34

