Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The first book in a series, this is a fantasy set in old Ireland and steeped in fairytale magic and intrigue, based on one of Hans Christian Andersons’ tales. And not a happy one at that. This isn’t a fairytale for children, that’s for sure!

Synopsis:

Lovely Sorcha is the seventh child and only daughter of Lord Colum of Sevenwaters. Bereft of a mother, she is comforted by her six brothers who love and protect her. Sorcha is the light in their lives, they are determined that she know only contentment.

But Sorcha’s joy is shattered when her father is bewitched by his new wife, an evil enchantress who binds her brothers with a terrible spell, a spell which only Sorcha can lift-by staying silent. If she speaks before she completes the quest set to her by the Fair Folk and their queen, the Lady of the Forest, she will lose her brothers forever.

When Sorcha is kidnapped by the enemies of Sevenwaters and taken to a foreign land, she is torn between the desire to save her beloved brothers, and a love that comes only once. Sorcha despairs at ever being able to complete her task, but the magic of the Fair Folk knows no boundaries, and love is the strongest magic of them all…

It took a long time to get into this book. The scene setting seemed to take a really long time, and I was certainly getting to a point where I could easily have put the book down and start something else. Then I went to Ireland for a brief holiday with Alex and it was like we were there at Sevenwaters, and from then on I was hooked to the story.

The story telling is vivid and beautiful. There is so much detail that I feel that it would take more than one reading to take everything in – but as much as I enjoyed reading I won’t be picking up this story again. It’s such a depressing read! So much stuff happens to the main character, Sorcha, so much pain and suffering – which is the point in order to complete her task of spinning and weaving six shirts in order to save her brothers.

I wanted to write a lot about this book, but as I sit here and type I can’t seem to think of what to say. It was a good book, and I did enjoy it despite how depressing it was. One thing I will say is that the love aspect which is mentioned in the synopsis – well I found it a bit lacking. I wasn’t up for a romance, but definitely expected a bit more in this regard.  It was until the last 100-150 pages that we focus on the love aspect, and a typical triangle as well which was equally as irksome for reasons I’m sure you would understand if you’ve read the book. There are two brothers, the eldest the heir to the family fortune, and the younger feeling neglected as pushed aside because he can’t have the love of his life. So why is it, when the elder – Red – decides to protect Sorcha by marrying her, regardless of his feelings, when Simon returns he decides that he is also deeply in love with her as well, despite already having a love of his life that caused him extreme jealousy from his brother in the first place. I guess I didn’t understand this aspect of it.

The part that made this book for me was being in Ireland when I was reading some it – and relating to the magic of Ireland more than the book itself I think. I doubt I’ll continue the series at this point in time, but you never know minds may change.

My next book is “The Wind Singer”, a revisiting of a childhood book that I’m looking forward to re-reading.

What’s on your bookshelves at the moment?

Kialtho

