Tags

, , , , , ,

Life has recently dealt me a rubbish blow, which is why I haven’t been blogging as much. It sucks to say that  I have been made redundant from my current role as Manager of my service station. I’ve been there for seven years now, well more than that, but due to recent changes within the business, and more so regarding the viability of my role specifically means that as of the end of October my particular role will no longer exist. Except that my boss does also want to keep me on until I do find another job… so there’s mixed messages there full stop.

So I am job hunting. And knitting as well, because knitting keeps me sane, of course!

I wanted to share with you my most recent make. I started knitting it on my stint of night shifts a few weeks back. Progress actually slowed down a bit in between because of above said news, but I can reveal the final product below!IMG_1512

This is made in Hobbycrafts “Women’s Institute” Soft ad Chunky range. The colour is just beautiful, a rich purple, and the yarn is so soft! I tend to use more acrylics for my work, and this particular yarn is mostly acrylic, with an added bonus of being either 30 per cent merino wool – not bad for something like £4 a ball! And with Hobbycrafts added “3 for 2” on yarn, and then the Daily Mail yarn coupons of a few weeks back… bargain!

It fits really well! The only thing that I was most concerned about was the fit of the sleeves. My row tension was off a little bit, which meant the decreases were happening faster than they should have done, and therefore didn’t line up properly. I knew my tension was off but stupidly didn’t correct it – I think it was one of those things that I just wanted over as quickly as possible so that I could move on and forget about everything from the last couple of weeks.

It fits though, and fits well. It’s snug and warm, and I just want to squish it some more!

Well, that’s all for now. Wish me luck for the future.

What’s on your needles?

Kialtho

