Tags

, , , , , ,

I haven’t written in a while. It’s not been ages, but it has been long enough for me to have completed three knitting projects, finished another book and got a new job! It’s been a busy few weeks, so today I thought I would write about some of it. I’m going to write about one of my projects as the other two are secret Christmas presents, so they are hush-hush for the time being. I will write about the book in a separate blog, as always, in order to keep my blog… well, in order. I also plan to write a blog about the job situation, from the moment I was made redundant to the job hunting process, because it’s painful… but again, more on that later.

So, let me introduce you my biggest project of late:
IMG_1570

This is called ‘Lace Wildflower Blanket’ on Revelry. I stumbled across it entirely by accident, and it was perfect. And free for that day only, so it was clearly meant to be. I already had the perfect yarn in my stash thanks to the Daily Mail’s free yarn coupons from a few weeks prior which made everything about this project free, excluding the time that went into it. So, it was super meant to be! I used my ‘go to’ yarn – Hobbycraft’s Women’s Institute, this project was in Aran weight. The pattern called for Worsted. I usually switch Worsted for Aran as I don’t seem to be able to easily find Worsted in the shops.

The pattern called for three sizes, and I went for the biggest for two reasons: to use up as much of the yarn as possible (used up all the pink, and had something like 75g of cream left), but it would be easy to keep repeating the diamond pattern to make even larger if that’s what you wanted to do. The other reason is because this blanket is a gift for a friend expecting a little girl so I wanted it to be big enough to last from being little to being a comfort blanket when the baby grows up a bit… if she likes it that is! IMG_1538

It was such a pleasure to be knitting this blanket. It was easy, the pattern was well written and included charts and written, catering to all types of knitters preferences. (I’m a chart knitter, but I remember when I was first trying to understand them, I was like wtf is going on? Having a pattern like this is a great learning tool to transition into the charts). That being said I did make a couple of mistakes here and there, but hopefully nothing too obvious. An extra knit line here (it took 20 mins to knit, after I realised I wasn’t about to tink back that was for sure!), a couple of yo in the wrong place… but these mistakes don’t know in the grand scheme of things, so it’s all good.

I love the colours together as well, sort of reminds me of raspberry ripple ice cream!
I also learned a new technique as well! I consider myself fairly experienced now at this knitting stuff and love it when I come across new techniques in patterns. This one was the iCord bind off/cast off. It’s something I’ve seen mentioned on Ravelry but haven’t really paid attention to patterns with them in. It makes a really nice, defined, smooth edging that looks great. I would have been cool to have put in a contrast colour as recommended in the pattern, but I didn’t really have enough that I thought would have matched or been suitable, so I stuck to the cream. I think it looks really neat!

I definitely recommend this pattern. It’s one of those that I definitely think I would knit again, and I can’t wait for the lady in question to receive it. I need to get my backside in gear to send it across!

Over the last week or so I discovered that KnitPicks so ship to the UK. I’ve been stalking their website trying to by one particular type of yarn for a long time. I wanted some of their hand painted Stroll yarn, in a specific colour way SIMPLY because the colours reminded me of David Tennent’s Tenth Doctor. Now that I can order it I can’t help but do my usual ‘do I really NEED more yarn?’ routine… of course I don’t, but I want it! A lot of the yarn I have in stock is sock yarn though, and being as though I don’t knit an awful lot of socks… do I need more? I know I have a lot of shawls and scarves in the planning, but still! I hate justifying things to myself. I can afford it, but I also had to buy things like a new cooker in the week so… why does being an adult have to conflict with my awesome hobby! I’ll let you know if I get that yarn *wink*.

I have all of next week off before I start my new job, so don’t anticipate my next project taking a great deal of time to make…
What are you working on at the moment? Care to share?

Kialtho

IMG_1551

