Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It wasn’t until I started writing this blog that I realised I’ve been calling this particular part of the book by the wrong name! I’ve been saying/talking about Blood and Gold – which is mentioned a fair few times in the book, it should be added, but obviously that’s not the case… And the name of one part of the Storm of Swords book.

Obviously, considering that this is the final book in the series so far, there’s likely to be spoilers for the previous few books. I’m sure that’s fairly certain that’s a given, but the warning is there just in case.

I actually wanted to finish this book before the end of 2015 in preparation for the release of the newest book. Then I read today that the 6th book has been delayed. Again. So now I’m not too sad or sore that I didn’t finish before the year was out.  I guess that whole notion is a discussion for another day though.

So, synopsis for the last part of a Dance with Dragons:

The future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance.

In King’s Landing the Queen Regent, Cersei Lannister, awaits trial, abandoned by all those she trusted; while in the eastern city of Yunkai her brother Tyrion has been sold as a slave. From the Wall, having left his wife and the Red Priestess Melisandre under the protection of Jon Snow, Stannis Baratheon marches south to confront the Boltons at Winterfell. But beyond the Wall the wildling armies are massing for an assault…

On all sides bitter conflicts are reigniting, played out by a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves. The tides of destiny will inevitably lead to the greatest dance of all.

Things happened in this volume that did surprise me. Some of it wasn’t clear, or revealed until the last minute of their storylines, some only inferred – Stannis and Bolton for instance, or those final moments we spend with Dany.

I enjoyed the book for the most part, but I did find the ending a little disappointing. I’m not sure what I was expecting I guess. Perhaps I was hoping for a beginning of the end, a start of the winding down of the story but no, we were thrown a whole new level of what the hell with certain characters behaving in a way that they definitely hadn’t been behaving before. It’s set up for an interesting next book, but still… I don’t know.

My favourite character is still Dany. I look forward to seeing her in the next book, and seeing how she gets out of this situation. I’m glad that Cersei got what was coming to her even if her story hasn’t fully played out yet. Arya is another favourite, but I feel as though her storyline is starting to lag a bit, so again hopefully that will resolve itself in the next book. Sansa was oddly absent during this one, and I can’t really remember what happened to her in the previous book.

I’m glad that I can say that I’ve made it to the end of the series so far. It means that I can browse certain places of the internet [Tumblr, I’m looking at you!] again without fear of the story being spoilt, which happened a couple of times before. I feel like it’s an achievement to be proud of, and definitely look forward to reading the next book in the series, and hope that it delivers in some of the areas that I felt were a little let down in this one.

So, have you made it to the end? I know that I’m a little late to this fandom, but what did you think? What are you favourite parts?

