Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The third in The Lunar Chronicle series is Cress, a reimagined version of the Rapunzel story. This time instead of being trapped in a tower with no doors, we have Cress, trapped in a satellite orbiting the Earth, working for the Lunars but wanting to help the rebel Linh Cinder.

Being as though this is the third book in the series, I’ll warn for spoilers because I’m sure that I’ll end up speaking about the events of the book.

cress-final-e1378337072559
Cress – The Lunar Chronicles [#3] – Marissa Meyer

Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker; unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.

I have read  a couple of other books since reading Scarlett, but it was nice jumping back into this universe and reconnecting with the characters. It doesn’t take long. Sadly, actually reading the book took a lot longer than I had wanted as life in general got in the way – so did the knitting…

I also found it harder to maintain my focus on reading this one. It felt as though something dramatic was happening a little too often, like every chapter which is great for plot development, but I did get to a point where it felt like a little too much was going on, especially to Cress who gained her freedom in a rather dramatic way – and gets understandably intimidated about how big and vast everything could be on Earth, when all she’s known was the tiny satellite.

It was great when things started to come together, when the gang were more or less reunited and were able to start to put their plans into action. I liked the little threads that connected all the characters together, things that perhaps weren’t so obvious in the beginning – Dr Erland, for example – and their endings as well.

It wasn’t until I started writing this blog entry that I realised that one of the central plots involving Thorne and Cress relates to the fairytale of Rapunzel so well that it just wasn’t something I had thought about. And, I love it more for that as well!

Things weren’t smooth going for the guys and girls of this instalment, even though at the end the ultimate objective of delaying the wedding was achieved. Of course, this means that all out war is going to happen in the next book – which has skipped the queue and will be read next instead of something else.

I love that this series is full of strong female characters – something that I think is needed. However, in the same sense I feel that Kai wasn’t portrayed as a particularly strong character, folding to Levanna for the wedding. Strong females can be portrayed alongside strong males, but he certainly doesn’t seem that way in this one. Perhaps that will change in Winter… Wolf was also a bit less… driven in this one as well. I would have thought he would have behaved a lot different, with a lot more determination and resolution to get Scarlett back, but instead he was resigned, and almost indifferent to the situation. Jacin is going to be interesting. Is he going to be super strong, or is he just a blank slate as already portrayed?

I look forward to the next book, and am probably going to start reading that as soon as I press “Publish” because this series is just too darn good to sit on a shelf and forget about.

What are you reading at the moment? One of the books on my reading challenge list is to read a book recommended by a friend – so I was thinking… why not ask you, my dear readers, instead?

Regards,

Kialtho

