Tags

, , , ,

I finally finished some knitting! It feels like it’s taken forever to get these gloves finished, which seems ridiculous as I did most of one last night. It’s a pattern I’ve made before as well so I found it even more frustrating that it was taking so long to finish. IMG_1755

These are the Evenstar Gloves, and they were made for a friend at my training store. He was eyeing the pair that I had made myself to so it was a perfect project.

I made these out of some yarn that I was given for Christmas. It’s Cygnet, a brand I haven’t worked with before. Seems to be a pretty good yarn, and I have three balls left to find something to make with. I am toying with the idea of making a Rainbow Dash out of the other blue/purple one, but we’ll have to wait and see. I’m going to make more crochet projects this year. I think the fact that I made a My Little Pony last year proves that I can do it, so it is definitely time to expand on that skill.
IMG_1764
Part of the problem when it came to making these was the first glove I had made was on my 9” circular needles, which I’ve never had a problem with before, until this project. They made my hands really hurt. I persevered through the first glove and decided to switch to magic loop for the second one. Despite the minutest difference in the needle tips the tension was completely different so I had to make a third to match the second. I did feel like a bit of a beginner again, to be perfectly honest. However, it is now done, I just need to find the time to get them to the recipient as I no longer work in the training store – I’ve been moved to my new, permanent store.

It’s a good store, except that one of the staff insulted one of my knit hats because she was annoyed that work that she had done wasn’t recognised as good by the store manager. I was quite hurt at what she said about my hat, but not everyone is going to like/be impressed that I can knit stuff.

It has been a busy few weeks to be fair. I think that’s only set to continue as well. I ordered a[nother] new car, which will be ready to pick up on March 1st. I’m going to be one of the first off the forecourt! I have a limited edition black Corsa coming my way! I love my Fiat 500, but it’s time for a complete change, and the offer was too good to resist! I have to go to Milton Keynes on Thursday, and I have my final review and exam on Monday, so yes… it’s going to be busy!

It would seem that I missed out on blogging about a hood that I made as well! Oh dear, I’ve just not been very organised have I?

IMG_1730

This is probably the best picture I took of it before I gave it a new home – this one I gave to my Mum, who assures me that it’s nice and toasty when she wears it. The pattern came from KnitNow and was one that I had wanted to make for a while. It surprises me that I haven’t blogged about it before as I learnt how to do the Kitchener stitch properly for this and was extremely excited about it! It was really quite seamless. I used some King Cole yarn for this one, although I can’t remember the exact name. I remember being attracted to the sparkly nature of the yarn.

I’m sorry that this blog entry is all over the place! Next time I’ll aim for a bit more structure!

Anyway, that’s all for now folks, happy crafting!

Kialtho

