Tags

, , , , , ,

Winter – Marissa Meyer

I finally finished! This book, being the last in the series was huge! At just over 800 pages [823, I think] it was always going to take some time to get through, but it felt like it was going on for a long time. Admittedly I did read another book in between, something that I don’t usually do, and I was focusing on my crochet and playing the most recent Pokemon game…. so you can see why it took so long to get through!winter-final

Synopsis:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

There’s so much to talk about from this book. First off, it was really, really big. Possibly the longest YA book I’ve read to date. I’m sure that some of the beginning of the book could have been cut down, but it was a great ride, and I loved being back with Cinder, fighting her battles against the evil Queen Levanna.

Things happened in this book but that I didn’t think would happened – the wedding, the coronation for instance. [I’ll try and be vague, I don’t want to give anything away or be someone who will spoil the story for anyone who may not have read it yet].

I love how immersive this world is, and how good the reinvention of the fairy tales were. I love the fact that this was set in the future, and that this particular book took place largely on Lunar. We got to see how Levanna treats her subjects, even those that were loyal to her. I felt like she could have held out for a little longer though, I have to say. I won’t talk too much about it, but definitely thought she could have hung it out a bit longer, or have something else up her sleeve before that final battle.

Winter was a brilliant character. I know she was a little bit crazy, and that everyone loved her – I think that’s what made her more compelling. The Queen was outdone by a teenage Lunar that refused to use her gift, afraid of that Lunar because she was just so pretty. Naturally pretty, and Levanna wasn’t.

I think Iko may have been my favourite character of the whole book. I know she wasn’t based on a fairytale, but she definitely held an echo of Pinocchio in her story. I felt like she had the most character development, and not just because she ended up with a different body [the one that Thorne had gotten for her in “Cress”]. I just loved her personality, it was on point for sure. I love some of the fan art around her too!

There’s so much to say on this book, but I just don’t want to. It was brilliant, and I loved it. I’m sad that this part of the story is over – I know that there’s the short stories, and Levanna’s book as well, but seriously, I’ve loved this story. It’s been a while since I enjoyed a series as much as I have this one.

I’ll leave it there for now, I know that this isn’t the most constructive review… but if this is on your to read list… enjoy it!

Kialtho

