Tags

, ,

In short, the answer to this question is a no. I am a monogamous knitter – I like to get involved with a pattern completely before finishing it and moving on. There isn’t much more that I can say about it, but I am also the same with books. I feel as though if I were to have more than one project on the go I would loose track of where I was, what I was doing and even why I was making that item in the first place.

I only once has more than one project on the go and that was a couple of years back when I made my Heliopath vest. The Heliopath was part of a KAL that I joined in at the last minute – partly as I really wanted to the magazine that went with the vest, which at the time wasn’t available to buy over here in the UK for copyright reasons [it has since been republished and edited so all the copyright infringements have been taken out], and before that I was working on another vest, and was able to stop at a logical part where I didn’t need to ensure I knew 100 per cent what was going on. I think I had stopped around the ribbing section.

In a few weeks time I have a vague notion of doing another MKAL, this time from the beginning [unlike the Doodler, which I waited until I had seen final objects before completing]. I’ve seen a few of the shawls this designer has done and I am excited to take part as I have some nice gradient yarn I want to use up, and apparently the end of the project is adjustable….so hopefully will be able to use up all my yarn rather than having some left over.

In terms of finishing projects – because I don’t have more than one on the go at any one time – it does sometimes feel as though it takes forever for me to knit things and get them up and shown. My knitting time has been vastly reduced since my work schedule changed and I work more evening shifts now than I used to, but I am still churning out my projects with a decent enough turn around… although I didn’t finish that sleeve like I wanted to yesterday – it’s not far from completion though.

When I first learnt to crochet – even though I’ve only completed a couple of projects – I wanted to have something crochet and something knit on the go at the same time, but I the only time I did that I didn’t really enjoy the experience as I felt like I wasn’t dividing my time adequately between the two crafts, so now I’m going to look more into taking what craft takes my fancy more than the other when it comes to choosing what projects to make next. And considering that I am still shopping from my stash I also have to take that into consideration as well. [I’ve done really well at not spending time on yarn so far this year, I think it’s only been about £10… so have gone ‘cold sheep’ well!].

What about you, my crafty friends? Do you focus on one project at a time, or making lots of different things?

