Tags

, ,

Fibre is such a difficult question to answer. I usually use acrylic, but nice acrylic. My go to yarn is Women’s Institute from Hobbycraft. It’s silky and smooth, and a joy to work with. They do a 4ply which is more of a sport weight, so I tend to go to that one for anything requiring sport weight yarn. They come in a range of colours as well.

Here are some of the projects I’ve made with Women’s Institute yarn, including my OWLs jumper that I blogged about yesterday.

IMG_7825 IMG_1611 IMG_1607 IMG_1409 IMG_0926

At one point I was completely obsessed with Alpaca yarn, and whilst it’s beautiful and soft, I struggle to decide what to make with it!

Most of the yarn in my stash is sock yarn from indie dyers, so they’re usually merino yarns. I also have a couple of skeins of Wollmeise as well, but despite having all these yarns, I wouldn’t say that it’s my favourite fibre. If I’m honest I think that I do prefer the cheap and cheerful acrylic that I mentioned above. I know that’s sacrilege in some groups in knitting, but it certainly does the job for me, and I know how it acts and reacts in knitting.

I like the luxury stuff, but this particular brand works on all levels for me!

How about you, dear readers? What’s your favourite yarn to work with?

Kialtho

