Tags

, , , , ,

I read this a few weeks ago now. It’s pretty much a one sit wonder, which isn’t a surprise considering that it’s a screenplay. I just haven’t made my mind up how I feel about the book which is why this blog is a bit late in coming.

Here’s the synopsis from GoodReads:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

I think my problem with the book stems from the fact that I grew up reading an awful lot of fanfiction. I would spend a lot of time online reading them, the good and the bad… and this book definitely reads like some of the fanfiction I read. I wholly believe that seeing the play will be an entirely different experience to reading the book, and I’m super looking forward to seeing it next year, but perhaps the book could have been a book rather than a screenplay?

We’re introduced to Harry’s youngest son, Albus Severus, who just doesn’t fit in. Given his ridiculous name, and the fame of his dad, he’s got a lot to live up to. The other two kids seemed to do alright – although they are barely mentioned and perhaps needn’t have existed? James’ purpose was to bully Albus in the brief encounter we had with him, and I don’t recall Lilly around at all.

The main plot point deals with Albus and his identity – being a Slytherin, being friends with Scorpio [who was actually the best character in the story] – and them trying to be a hero by saving Cedric Diggory through some timey-whimey wibbly-wobbly magic. And a Time Turner.

I understand the kids motivation, and definitely enjoyed seeing some of the alternative histories – the one with Snape still alive was my favourite.

I don’t want spoil what happens for those that haven’t read it yet, but I just felt like something was missing from the book. It didn’t hold the same charm that the original stories did – which I suppose is to be expected. I’m older, and have had different experiences since I first picked up the magical series. I just think that the book itself could have been better.

I am looking forward to seeing the show, and I really hope that does justice to the wizarding world…

This is one of those ones where there’s so much that I want to say, but I’m having trouble articulating exactly what it is that I want to say…

Have you read this one? Up for some discussion?

Kialtho

