Tags

, , , ,

I completely forgot to write a blog about my most recent knitting project! To be fair, it is a pretty simple scarf, but it’s also pretty nerdy so deserves to be shared.

My first knitting project was a Hufflepuff scarf for Alex. I then made another when the first one was stolen as it had been left in a car that was stolen. Recently, Alex asked me to make him a new scarf, but a slightly lighter weighted one as the Hufflepuff one is too warm for him. [It had been really cold, you would think that he would have been happy!]

So I went and made something Lord of the Rings themed. I haven’t read the books, and I also haven’t really paid attention to the films – even though I have seen some of them, I couldn’t really tell you what it’s about except… you know, a ring, a quest, save the world type stuff. I would like to read the books one day, but it’s not something that I plan to rush into.

So here it is:

The Elvish is the poem for ‘one ring to rule them all’, and the other end has the Tree of Gondor. I put it in as I didn’t want the end to be blank. I know red isn’t the traditional colour for the Tree but it had to match the Elvish which I thought was a nice contrasting colour.

I used Women’s Institute yarn for this project. Literally my go to yarn, especially the 4ply version. It is soft, silky, and has a really good drape, especially when it’s had heat applied to it.

This only took a couple of weeks to make – I was impressed with my own speed on this one.

My current project is crochet, so it’s going to be interesting to see if I can finish it. It’s my third crochet project ever so… we shall see.

This is only a short and sweet one today – hopefully I’ll have my crochet done soon so that I can share that as well!

Kialtho

