Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I have completed my finished object that I am sharing today. I wanted to wash and block it properly, and then get some good photos… what can I say? I washed it, and dried it and all that, but to be honest because it’s a mostly acrylic blend yarn it’s not really changed it’s shape. I was a little reluctant to use heat as I wasn’t sure how the wool content would hold up.

That being said, it does look good, so I am happy.

What I am sharing today is some crochet. I attended my best friends wedding in May and Alex picked up some yarn from the shop across the road from the church (well, why not?). So I came home with these two balls of 150g Sirdar Colour Wheel that was begging to be crocheted. I chose something simple that would allow the colours to work well and something that wouldn’t be too taxing on my brain as I had a lot of work related stuff to finish at the same time.

I ended up making a Star blanket. I found the pattern on Ravelry, and then used a YouTube video to help guide me in the set up. I imagine I could have done it without the YouTube guide, but I didn’t want the frustration if I am honest! When I was doing this project I decided I would officially declare that I can crochet – although I’ll qualify it with the adage that these skills I have are very beginner and that I hope to definitely develop them further. My true love will always be knitting though, I think there’s an elegance to it that doesn’t seem to be recreated in crochet.

Here are some photo’s of the blanket. It’s more of a foot warmer than a blanket that can cover me and keep me warm, but I’m still proud of it. Artie, naturally, declared it as his as soon as I finished, and who am I to refused my spoiled brat of a cat? He even took it with him on his holiday to his Nanny’s when we went to another wedding in country.

I’ve tried to get some better photo’s than just my iPhone ones… What do you think?

My current project is also a blanket. I’m super excited to see how its going to turn out and to share it with you when it’s ready! I’m about a quarter of the way through it now though, so I have some time to go with it yet!

What are you making at the moment? Does your furbaby declare that your projects are theirs?

Kialtho

