Welcome to the M40

This post will be a little short in text as I am currently sitting in the (passenger) seat of the car as my boyfriend drives. We’ve been sitting on the same part of the motorway for a good couple of hours… M40, between junctions 11 and 12 I think. There was a car fire earlier that’s caused really, really long delays. I hope that nobody was hurt for sure but it seems like it’s been pretty bad as we’ve been here for a long time. Luckily we had a bit of warning and were able to get a few supplies like drinks and snacks to keep us occupied. Alex started watching Despicable Me whilst I knitted a bit on my current project. I’ve also been reading a bit of my book.

I often wonder what other people get up to in this situation. We’ve got each other to talk to, which passes the time, but what about the people that don’t have that? It must be extremely boring, and long. For us it doesn’t feel as though we’ve been on here for that length of time, although the full bladder and draining fuel tank suggest otherwise.

As I write this we are making our way closer, and slightly faster than before. In the distance there is smoke, but I assume that’s more a farm fire because of the colour of the smoke (white, not black).

I was going to talk about Scotland as that was pretty cool, but I’ll leave that for my next entry as it’s quite difficult to get everything across, that and my battery is dying… Until next time.

Also, that smoke is still the fire… We’ve just made it to the diversion. Hope nobody has been injured!!!!

Take it easy folks,

Kialtho